Sunday, October 26, 2014

Brown County State Park

We spent several days at the beginning of this week at Brown County State Park in Indiana.  The fall colors were beautiful!



DSC_0059

DSC_0057

DSC_0047

DSC_0046


DSC_0035

DSC_0033

DSC_0020

DSC_0006


Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Chasing God by Angie Smith

This is the second book I've read by Angie (You can read my review of I Will Carry You here).  In Chasing God, she shares her journey of moving from chasing God to abiding in Him.  Her writing is very conversational and readable, although at times she wanders of topic.  It feels like you are sitting in her living room, listening to her story.

Angie shares how she spent much of her Christian walk trying to do all the right things and get everything just right.  Yet, she felt like she was missing what everyone else had.  What she found was that she wasn't going to find God chasing after him desperately.  He was there, waiting for her to rest in his love.

I resonated with much of her sentiments.   I, too, often feel like I'm missing something that everyone else has.  I often feel like maybe my faith just isn't strong enough.   I especially loved when she shared that I don't always have to feel like God is close to me.  Even when I don't feel like He's right there, I can still have faith that he is.   Although Chasing God wasn't deep, theologically, it caused me stop and think about my relationship with the Lord.  I recommend that you read it for yourself.

Rating - 4/5

First Line - "One can hardly deny the appeal of a good chase."

Last Line - "My Lord, and my God ... here am I."


I received a copy of  Chasing God free for review.  All opinions are my own.

Sunday, January 5, 2014

Snow Fun!!

We were hit with a big snow storm today.  We took a little time this afternoon to go out and enjoy ourselves!  Tomorrow the highs are supposed to be below zero, so we will be hunkered inside for a few days!


DSC_0046

DSC_0040

DSC_0039

DSC_0038

DSC_0035

DSC_0034

DSC_0033

DSC_0032

A selfie!
Playing in the snow!


These two pictures were taken four hours apart.
The snow is so beautiful this morning!!4 hours later ... same view ... a bit more snow!



Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Peach Picking

I found some pictures of us picking peaches from the end of August.  You must look at these pictures while singing Peaches by The Presidents of the United States of America ... at least that's our theme song for anything involving peaches!

DSC_0123

DSC_0125

DSC_0128

DSC_0130

DSC_0131




Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Thoughts from the Laundry Room

As the mother of 6 children, I spend a lot of time folding laundry.  I often find myself thinking and contemplating while I work.  These are some of my musings.



Everything is a matter of perspective.

As the weather has turned cold, I'm in the midst of switching out clothes.  Over the years I've passed clothes onto my sister and she in turn passes clothes back to me.  So, I have totes full of clothes for my little man to wear - many that have been passed down through 5 older boys (his two brothers and two cousins).

As I've been folding the laundry this week, I keep being flooded with memories of my two older boys.  It's funny how seeing those little clothes can transport you back in time and you can just picture exactly how they looked back then.  More, I keep remembering what I was thinking at the time.   I remember how big I thought those boys were when they were wearing those 3T clothes.   I have to shake my head at myself now, because I now realize how little they were back then.

DSC_0009
Joe (almost 1) and Caleb (2 years 9 mo.)

When Caleb was Alex's age, not only did I have one year old Josiah, but I was also expecting Rachel.  He was my big kid.  I look at little Alex now, who looks so much like his oldest brother, and think he's so little.  He's my baby.  Next to his almost full grown teenage brother, he's tiny.  The size of my almost three year olds isn't any different.  But my perspective has changed drastically.

Perspective is important - but sometimes our perspective is skewed.  Unfortunately, we can't always know when our perspective is off.   We view everything in life through our own experience and knowledge.  Sometimes we allow our own perspective to affect the way we treat others.  We make judgements.  We look down on others.  We lack grace.  We allow our perspective to destroy others.  When, maybe, we are just looking at things wrong.

Untitled
Alex (age 2 years 9 mo.)

My perspectives have been slowly (and sometimes not so slowly) shifting over the last few years.  As I look back at the way I've looked at things in the past, I see they were not only unloving, but also  ungodly.  As I move forward in this life, my prayer is to see people the way God sees them.  I want my perspective to be God's perspective.

Let all we do be bathed in love and grace.  Let us be there to pull others up, not push them down.  Love God.  Love others.  Let us see others how he sees them.


Saturday, August 3, 2013

Preschool - Letter A

This year I'm doing preschool with Sarah (age 4) and Alex (age 2).  We are spending the first 26 weeks going through the alphabet one letter at a time.  We started with "A" this week.  We spend about 60 minutes Monday-Wednesday-Friday, and 30 minutes Tuesday-Thursday doing preschool.  I've printed and laminated A LOT of activities from Confessions of a Homeschooler.   I considered making my own stuff, but decided not to reinvent the wheel.   I figure that I can reuse them over the next couple years as my two youngest move through preschool and kindergarten.  Pinterest has been invaluable in planning our preschool activities!  I also bought them both a couple of cheap workbooks from the dollar store for them to do while I work with the other kids.

Every day we do a Bible story and song.  These stay the same all week.  By Friday, my goal is that they can tell me the Bible story (and Sarah was able to this week).  Sarah is also working on writing letters at some point during the week.  This week she used a dry erase marker and marker board.

Bible Story:  Adam and Eve
Song:  Ants go Marching

Day 1 - Read Berenstains' A Book
           -  Read "A" section of My First Picture Dictionary (Pictureback(R))
           -  Fingerprint Ants       
           - Ant activity pages from Confessions of a Homeschooler
           - Applesauce snack

DSC_0246

DSC_0249

DSC_0248


Day 2  -  Read Amelia Bedelia and the Baby (Amelia Bedelia (PB))       
            -  Make Apple A's (found on Totally Tots)
            - "A" page in Cuisenaire Alphabet Book (Grades K-4)

DSC_0130

Day 3 - "A" pancakes for breakfast
           - Read Apples by Gail Gibbons
           - Read "A" pages in Museum ABC
           - Apple Activities from Confessions of a Homeschooler

DSC_0136

Day 4 - Today was Dad's day off, so we spent the day with him.  We did make Alligator A's (found on Totally Tots) in the evening.

DSC_0138

Dad 5 -  Read How to Make an Apple Pie and See the World (Dragonfly Books)
           - Make mini paper plate apples (found here.  We used crayons instead of paint - and they did                    them independently.  Ours didn't look quite so nice, LOL.)
           - Make an apple pie, using the recipe in the back of the book

DSC_0140

DSC_0142

DSC_0143

And, yes, Sarah does wear clothes for multiple days in a row.  Less laundry, right?

This post contains Amazon Affiliates links.  

Monday, July 29, 2013

First Day of School - 2013

Today was our first day of school.



Jada - 3rd Grade, Caleb - 8th Grade
Josiah - 6th Grade, Rachel - 4th Grade



DSC_0227
Sarah - Preschool




DSC_0238
A picture of all 6!  We've taken their picture in front of this little tree for the last several years.  The kids keep getting bigger ... but the tree does also, LOL.

Previous year's 1st day posts ... I can't believe, looking back, how much they've changed:
2012, 2011, 2010, 2009

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Fourth of July HIke

We had no plans on the fourth and the kids needed some pictures for their 4H projects, so we decided to take a small road trip to find a nature preserve an hour or so away.   We ended up finding it, along with a rock outcrop that was really cool.  The kids were using my camera to take pictures for 4-H, which left me with my phone's camera.     It's hard to believe that these areas were here in Northern Indiana.

#hangingrock. Life on the edge.
The girls posing at the top of Hanging Rock, overlooking the Wabash River.

#hangingrock
Caleb.  It's hard to tell in the picture how high we are, but you can kind of see the treetops as we are above them. 

#hathawaynaturepreserve #waterfall
Just a few miles away is the Hathaway Nature Preserve.  It was beautiful and peaceful.  We got to view several small waterfalls up close and personal.

Waterfall #2. #hathawaynaturepreserve

A waterfall you can actually stand at the top @peerdaddy


We enjoyed a small picnic next to one of the falls.


Tuesday, July 16, 2013

May and June Recap

Our summer break is quickly coming to an end.   We've had a busy, but relaxing summer.   The last few months were consumed with summer camps, VBS, 4H projects and our oldest becoming a teenager.   We have two weeks to breathe and then we begin another year of school.   Here's a few phone pictures from May and June.

The girls are driving me around!! #cedarpoint
The girls driving at Cedar Point.  We took the older four and had a blast riding coasters all day.  The favorite of the day was Millennium Force.

Jada getting dropped off at overnight camp!  She showed no signs of fear. #bearlakecamp #braverthanhermom
Jada getting dropped off at camp.  She didn't know anyone else, but showed no fear and had lots of fun.

We made it down the river without getting wet!
While Jada was at camp, the rest of us went canoeing.  It was my first time and I'm looking forward to going again!


Rachel getting dropped off at Bear Lake Camp!
Rachel's turn for camp.  She was lucky enough to have her close friend in her cabin with her ... but she still thought a week was a little too long to be gone.

Dropped off our last camper for the summer.  #bearlakecamp #bestfriends @morgebby00
Caleb and his best friend ready for their week of camp.

It's swim time!
Jada enjoying a little pool time at Aunt Kristen's.

Parade time!  #charteroakchurch
The church's float in our local parade.  Jada is in the white one, with Sarah, Alex and Rachel directly behind her.

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails