Saturday, December 30, 2006

Sad news :(

Thank you for all your prayers. I started bleeding again on Christmas Day, and miscarried on the 27th. We're doing O.K. Caleb and Josiah are pretty upset, they were really looking forward to a new member of the family. We decided to let them help name the baby, (Celeste Noelle) who is now in Jesus arms. Please continue to keep us in your prayers as you think of us.

Posted: 7:47 PM, Dec. 30, 2006

Friday, December 22, 2006

My roller coaster week

It's been a longtime since I've visited. Two weeks ago we found out we were to be blessed with another little one. Then this past Sunday afternoon I began spotting. This is pregnancy # 5, and this is the first pregnancy where this has happened. Sunday night was our Christmas program at church, and I was Mary, so with a heavy heart we went to the church. We got home and the spotting had lessened.

Monday I called the doctor and they told me to take it easy (they must not have 4 little kids running around). I tried, but was still spotting. Aaron came home and took the older three back to work with him for the afternoon. (Jada still takes nice, long afternoon naps!). I took it easy, but right before bed, the spotting turned from the brown it had been all day to red. I went to bed in tears, sure I was losing the baby.

Tuesday, I was still spotting, but it was back to brown. I rested the whole day, and by the afternoon the spotting had stopped. I was fine both Wednesday and Thursday.

Today, I decided I needed to get some of the Christmas prep done I had intended to do earlier in the week. We got our cookies frosted, I made candy, I got food prepared for tomorrow (we are having our celebration tomorrow, then leave Sunday to go to his parents for Christmas). I sat down in the afternoon, exhausted. I went to the restroom, and I was bleeding. So I laid down, and things lessened to light brown spotting.

I feel like I'm on a roller coaster ride!! God is really showing me, though, that he is in control. I'm not very good at waiting, but that is all we can do at this point. Please keep me in your prayers if you think of it.

On another note, Caleb and Josiah were having a little fight last night in the hallway, and Caleb's bottom tooth got knocked out. He said it hadn't been loose, but he also said it hadn't hurt to lose it. He was crying so hard, because he was scared!!! The funny thing is he has been looking forward to losing his first tooth. Both of his younger cousins had already lost their first teeth. I finally got him calmed down. He put the tooth under his pillow last night, and proudly came in with his dollar this morning.

He then proceeded to ask what I had done with the tooth. I told him I was saving it to put in his baby book. Aaron wondered if it was worth going through all the trouble of putting the tooth under his pillow, if we were going to tell him the truth about the tooth fairy. Caleb and I both said, "Yes!! It's still fun!"

Have a Merry Christmas.

Monday, November 27, 2006

It's Christmas time!!!!

We spent the thanksgiving holiday with my in-laws, we had a nice relaxing time. We needed a little break away from all that has been going on here at home.

The kids have been begging to put up the Christmas tree for over a week. We finally relented today. I'm not looking forward to keeping Jada out of the ornaments, it might have been better to put the tree up on Christmas Eve!

As we were coming home from church last night Caleb went into a long discourse about the true meaning of Christmas. He thought Josiah needed to know (he told me later, "If I weren't Josiah's big brother, he would never know what Christmas is really about). Tonight, after the Christmas tree was up I decided to have him tell me again so I could record it. Sorry about it being so dark.



Then I asked the other kids. Josiah played shy, and would barely speak at all with the camera running. Rachel didn't say much either. When I asked Jada, though, it sounds just like she says, "Jesus is." Who knows if that's what she really said, but thats the story I'm sticking to!!

Monday, November 20, 2006

Thanksgiving tree

Today the kids and I made a Thanksgiving tree. I had read the idea on one of my e-mail loops (can't remember which one!). We traced their hands, and cut them out. Then each of them wrote down things they were thankful for. Caleb made the trunk and all the little branches going out.

Caleb was thankful for: Mom and Dad, God, and the world
Josiah was thankful for: Dogs, fish, horses, and fire (yes, nothing that he has any emotional attachment to at all!!)
Rachel was thankful for: God, our house, and Nuna (her name for Grandma)

Here is some pictures of the finished product:and the kids in front of it. (I tried to get a picture with Jada in it too, but she just wouldn't cooperate!).

Yesterday we had the dedication service for our new building at church. It was a wonderful service. Here's the location of a video clip on the local news. www.wane.com
Under the featured videos, got to "new building, new beginning"


Posted: 3:51 PM, Nov. 20, 2006

Wednesday, November 8, 2006

Caleb's first Lapbook


Caleb finished his bee lapbook today. He said he liked making it. I asked him if he would like to do them all the time, or just a couple a year. He said just a couple a year, so I guess it's something we can add in every once in a while. Here is a few pictures.Caleb putting it all together.



The inside.




Caleb wanted to place everything himself, and instead of putting these on the front of the lapbook, he put them on the back! :)



The inside of all his mini books. The first day he wrote several of the definitions himself, but after that he just dictated to me and I wrote. I think he learned a lot about bees, and had a little fun too!! Now we plan on studying Thanksgiving for the rest of the month.

Posted: 1:35 PM, Nov. 8, 2006

Thursday, November 2, 2006

November 2, 2006

We've had a pretty crazy time this past week. We did get to have services on Sunday in our new building, which was wonderful!!! Aaron is also back to working at the church, which has been a bit of an adjustment. I've gotten so used to him being here, that it feels really strange to not have him around!!! We are going through a difficult time at the church, though, and Aaron has been under a lot of stress for the last several days because of it. Please just keep him in your prayers as he deals with things.

We're working on our first lapbook this week!! It is about bees (from In the Hands of a Child) and Caleb has really enjoyed it and seems to be retaining the information a little better than normal. Hopefully we will finish it up at the beginning of next week, and I can post our finished product.

For Caleb's creative writing assignment this week he had to write about what he would do differently if he lived somewhere else. He chose space as his place to live. Here it is:

If I lived in space I would go outside and fly because there is no gravity in space. It would be fun, but you can only fly in space. I would go look at the galaxy in my spaceship. It�s just a lot of stars spinning around and around. I would go see all the planets in my spaceship. I would go play with my dog inside the spaceship because there is no oxygen outside. The end.

Wednesday, October 25, 2006

Church's certificate of occupancy

Yesterday we finally got the certificate of occupancy for the church. Sunday we will be having our first service in the new building. It seems like it has taken forever, but it hasn't even been a full year since the church burned. We've learned a lot of lessons over the last year, but the most important one is that God provides!! Even though we didn't have a lot of insurance on the building, God has provided in miraculous ways. It is always so wonderful to see how God works both through his people, and in spite of them!!



Tuesday, October 17, 2006

Botanical Gardens

Today we took a field trip. We were supposed to go to a state park to see indian mounds, but the weather didn't cooperate. Instead, we went to the botanical conservatory.

Josiah peaks in the tree that talks. There were lots of hands on areas for the kids. Their favorite part was a tunnel that simulated an earthworms tunnel (complete with a slide to get out!).


This is a picture of all four of them in the Rainforest room. A waterfall started right behind them and flowed down below.

Josiah studies Apples next week, and they had a special exhibit on apples and apple trees. Hopefully he'll remember some of it next week!! Although it was a short day, the kids had a fun and maybe learned a little too!!

Friday, October 13, 2006

October 13th

The last week has flown by. Last Sunday was Rachel's third birthday. We had a party with my side of the family. She thinks she's a princess, and some days she even acts like one!! She is such a girly girl, and yet she also can keep up with the boys.....she's my bundle of energy!! Here's a picture of the birthday girl (with cousin Zeke and brother Josiah singing to her).


We've spent a lot of the week working at the church. We're in the final stages....we should get to have church services in our new building a week from Sunday. Aaron has moved his stuff into his new office.

We got most of his books put on bookshelves yesterday.



Yesterday it snowed!!! The kids were so excited. It of course didn't stick, but for several minutes it snowed very hard.

I've been spending most of my time this week changing our preschool curriculum around. I like most of the books in Sonlight's PK, but there are several that I've decided to leave out. I'm trying to add in new books and develop a theme that goes with the alphabet. Next week we plan on starting, so I'll have to see how things go.

Thursday, October 5, 2006

A Beautiful Day For a Hike

Today we took a field trip to a state park. It was a beautiful day, cool (but not too cool) and sunny. We took two hikes, a 2.2 mile and a .7 mile. Rachel complained several times but she walked almost the whole way.

We read the story The Raft before we left. The boys took their nature notebooks, and I told them they were going to draw nature just like the boy in the

story. When we got there Josiah informed me that he couldn't draw, he could just "scrubble." So I didn't make him, and allowed him to just enjoy nature. Caleb drew several things in his notebook though. Here he is drawing.


Here he's drawing a picture of a swan. Besides the swan some other wildlife we saw were a blue heron, a squirrel, a crane, a snake, a deer and numerous songbirds.



This is a picture of the deer, although when I zoomed in it didn't stay very clear.



The woods were beautiful, some of the leaves were beginning to change colors and the path was littered with leaves of all colors. Here's my fellow hikers:


That's Josiah, Aaron with Jada on his back, Rachel and Caleb.



All of them looking at the lake.





Finally a picture of Caleb and Josiah amidst the beautiful fall leaves.



All in all we had an invigorating day enjoying God's beautiful creation.

Wednesday, October 4, 2006

My Day.....

Today was one of those days.... This morning I was reading to Josiah on the couch. Rachel wanted to sit on my lap, but I told her to sit next to me (so she wouldn't obstruct the view of the book). She started crying and flailing around, and then hit me in the mouth with her head. She had split my lip and although I got it to stop bleeding pretty quickly, I had a fat lip.

Then this afternoon I knocked a plate off the counter and it shattered everywhere (I thought Corelle wasn't supposed to do that!). There were a million pieces all over the floor, in the dining room, in the bathroom, and even up on the counter. As I was trying to keep the kids out of the kitchen, I stepped on a small piece. It wasn't a big cut, but I once again was cleaning blood off of myself.

We just got home from church and I knew I was out of fuzzi bunz for Jada to wear to bed. I had threw them in the washer before church, so I opened the dryer, and the clothes were still wet (another problem I've been having today....drying a load of clothes three time to get them dry) I threw the diapers in with them and started it, hoping to have a dry diaper by bedtime.

I sat on the couch, and it dawned on me.....I had only rinsed the diapers, I hadn't washed them yet! So they are washing now, Jada has a disposable on, and I'm going to have to rewash the clothes in the dryer that I threw dirty diapers in with!

I think maybe I need a break before I completely lose it!!


Monday, October 2, 2006

Monday

Mondays are always a slow day for us, I think we all need time to recover from Sundays! Caleb had a lot of trouble today concentrating to do his dictation. He wrote some of his words double the size and ran several words together. He did great at math, though, and that's what he struggled with last week! It's so funny how things differ so much from week to week.

I started using Amy's SLPK schedule for Josiah today. It is organized in themes, and we started wisdom this week. I'm hoping this will make things a little more interesting.

We also read Time of Wonder. Caleb's notebook page shows the island before and after the hurricane.


He made several of the trees bending in the top picture and then asked us why they were bent over. I asked him, "Why." He said when they were little trees they were next to big trees and they had to bend to reach the light. We haven't even studied that yet!!

Jada took her first steps yesterday (finally), but she hasn't taken any more today. We're hoping she starts walking soon (although that would mean her sister would have to leave her alone long enough for her to learn!).

Sunday, October 1, 2006

The white pumpkin

Fall is in full swing, we had a cold blast last week to get us prepared!! Today is beautiful, though. Yesterday Aaron got three big pumpkins for the kids. Josiah really wanted a white pumpkin, but Aaron said there weren't any (I'm hoping he was telling the truth, but, who knows, because he doesn't like white pumpkins!). Josiah was very disappointed.

Caleb spent the weekend camping with my parents. He called yesterday afternoon and had to talk to Josiah. My Mom said he told Josiah, "I got a white pumpkin and I'm going to share it with you because I love you so much." They've had a long week of fighting, so I'm going to have to get a picture of them with the pumpkin that brought them together!!

School has been going a little better this week. Caleb has been doing notebook pages for his bible stories each week. The first few weeks of school, he rushed through them. I could tell he wasn't even trying. The last two weeks he has been doing much better. Here are the pictures from this week and last week.





He still needs to learn that in bible times they didn't have all of our modern conveniences!! In the first picture he put a bus going over a bridge. I talked to him about how they didn't have those when Jesus was alive. Then this last week he made a train driving through the temple as Jesus was overturning the tables!! He does know how to put a smile on my face!!


Posted: 3:36 PM, Oct. 1, 2006

Monday, September 25, 2006

September 25, 2006

School is going better. We've been reading picture books, and doing little studies with them. Last week we read Horton Hears a Who and he did some notebook pages on it. Today we read the Pumpkin Runner.

In LA today we played sight word bingo. Caleb had to make sure that each line had the same color marker on it.


The next word was no, and he ran into a problem.....no more blue markers!!


Jada and Rachel are both getting over being sick, hopefully none of the rest of us end up with it!! Here is some pictures of Jada, she had just been trying to put her jammies on.


Isn't she just too cute?

Little girls get into clothes so early!!

Wednesday, September 20, 2006

Just plugging along........

Today we finished Dr. Doolittle. Caleb really enjoyed it. He did several notebook pages to go along with it. I tried to scan them in, but my scanner is not working.

Maybe some other day! We're going to spend the next couple weeks doing short units with some picture books before we move on to our next scheduled RA.

Caleb's been fighting school the last couple of days. We had spent the weekend at the lake with my in-laws, so I'm hoping he's just tired. It's too early in the school year to start this. Hopefully the change of pace the next couple weeks will help him out!

Josiah, on the other hand, is really enjoying PK. During his school time he always picks out several extra books to read along with the ones from the core and always wants to read ahead. I was worried that he wouldn't be ready, but he has really surprised me.

Well, I guess we'll just keep on plugging.

ETA-I finally got my scanner to work. The top and bottom of the Notebooking page is missing; the top says 'Dr. Doolittle', the bottom says 'Draw how the doctor got away from the pirates.'


Tuesday, September 12, 2006

The future of toy storage....

My Mom and my sister came over today with my niece and nephew. We were sitting at the table chatting, and one of the kids came out and said there were toys in the toilet. I went back to the bathroom expecting one floating toy, but instead this is what I found!



Rachel and my 2 year old nephew Zeke had been having quite a fun time. When I walked in the door they were just reaching for the toilet to flush!! Thankfully, I stopped them just in time!! That was enough of a mess for one day! Bet you didn't know a toilet could double as a toy box!!

Sunday, September 10, 2006

One more birthday.....

Well, the birthday season is coming to an end....today I turned 29. I had a pretty relaxing day, which was really nice. We didn't have Sunday School this morning, and our service was at 8:30 (the building we are using right now was being rented out, so we had to work around them). So, we had a long stretch between church services.

The fall chill was in the air today!! Yesterday was in the 80's so it was shockingly cold today, but I'm soooo excited. I love fall. The beauty of the leaves as they change always makes me rejoice in the majesty of God. Even the air is more invigorating, each breath makes you feel more alive. I'm so thankful that God made a world that can be so enjoyable to all of our senses, and I look forward to the next several months!


Saturday, September 9, 2006

Jada is ONE!!!!

Well, birthday season continues. Jada turned one today . I didn't even get to spend much time with her today, but from what I hear she didn't have a very good day. She went out to eat with Nuna (grandma) and spilled pop all over both of them, and dumped a plate of macaroni and cheese on the floor of the restaurant, breaking the plate. All this while I was busy staining windows at the church!

Last night, though, we threw her a party (just so you don't think I'm an awful mother!!). She had a ladybug theme, and I made lady bug cakes. Caleb made ladybug posters to hang on the wall for decorations. Upon further inspection, I noticed numbers on them. Caleb said he had put the number of spots on them, because the little kids might not be able to count them themselves!

Here's a pictureof the birthday girl:

Her birthday cake:

Her blowing out her candle:

Happy Birthday, sweet baby!!

Wednesday, September 6, 2006

Just a little laugh...

Josiah and Rachel had gone back to our room to sleep. Rachel had pushed the button on the answering machine, and it started playing all the old messages (you mean you're supposed to delete those?). Josiah came out a couple of minutes later and said, as serious as can be, "I can't sleep, too many people are callling."

Aaron and I were ROTFL. Poor Jo, he's mister sensitive, and was upset we were laughing at him. It was too funny!!


Tuesday, September 5, 2006

More Vacation.....

Here's some of our pictures from vacation while climbing Poke-a-moonshine mountain. I'm not in very good shape (hey, I did have 4 kids in 5 years), and it was a very difficult climb for me. But, reaching the top was well worth it. The view was breathtaking. It really made me see just how awesome God is. Here in Indiana we just don't have scenery like that!

The boys hiked it with us. Caleb loved it!!! He would take off on ahead of us and we'd have to tell him to wait up! Josiah, on the other hand, wasn't much better than I was. But, he was so proud of himself when he made it up and down. (He did say he never wanted to climb a mountain again, LOL!).

Here's a picture of the trail going up. (Sorry, I couldn't get it resized, so you'll have to click the link).


Here is the four of us after we finally reached the top:

The hike down was MUCH better than up! It was actually fun. Hey, maybe this was the incentive I needed to get myself into shape. Only time will tell. ;)



Sunday, September 3, 2006

Birthdays, birthdays, birthdays...

This is birthday season at our house. Today we celebrated two of my nephews birthdays. We had a great time, and the kids chased bugs all afternoon. My family is extremely close, and between my brother, sister and I we have 10 kids (with #11 on the way). The oldest just turned eight this last week (actually on dh birthday). The kids have a great time with their cousins, and they are all best friends!!

My nephews with cousins all looking on.

Caleb finds a walking stick.



Saturday, September 2, 2006

Church progress Well, dh spent most of the day painting at our church. Last November our church was struck by lightening and burnt down. It's so e

Well, dh spent most of the day painting at our church. Last November our church was struck by lightening and burnt down. It's so exciting to have the new building be at the painting stage!! Aaron is the pastor, and has been office-less for 10 months now....which means our house has become his office.

I love having him here, but keeping the kids quiet enough for him to work has been very stressful. There was one bright spot on Monday when we started school. Aaron decided this house was just too small, so hopefully we'll start looking for something a little bigger in a couple of months!! We'll see what happens.

This is a picture of the old church before it burned.



Our new building in progress.

Friday, September 1, 2006

Happy Birthday Aaron!

Yesterday was my dh Aaron's birthday. He is now 28. The next 10 days we're the same age, and then I pull ahead of him for another year! I think I have the best husband. Although he's not perfect, I really think he's perfect for me. So today (I tried to post last night, but for some reason it wouldn't let me!) I'm just going to be thankful that God has given me such a perfect mate and encourage you to be thankful for your husbands as well. They really are a gift from the Lord. I look back at my life, and can see how He orchestrated our meeting and marriage. Every day that we have together is a gift, so let's make the most of it.

~Shannon

Here's my true love (with our baby Jada).

Wednesday, August 30, 2006

Bible stories....

For Bible this year we are studying one bible story a week. On Day One, I do the story with Betty Luken's felts. The second day we read it out of a bible story book. The third day I have them do a notebook page for the story. On the final day, I'm letting them tell the story with the felts. The extra day is for really working on the memory verse, which we review each day.

I was frustrated in the past with rushing through the bible stories. They didn't really seem to learn the stories, everything became a blur. So I came up with this idea, we'll see if it helps at all (I guess I need to give it more than two days).

On a funny note, the story we started with this week was the boyhood of Jesus. When I completed the story the first time, we talked about how we should want to be like Jesus (kind, obedient to parents, etc.). Josiah piped up, "But Jesus didn't obey his parents, he ran away from them."

My husband was working in the living room. I looked at him and said, "what can you say to that?" He (being a pastor) told him that he just obeyed his Daddy instead of his Mommy. I thought it was pretty funny (and pretty observant too)!

Tuesday, August 29, 2006

Will the laundry ever end?

I got our vacation pictures back in the mail yesterday. Here's a picture of our family in front of Fort Ticonderoga. I'm wearing a smile here, but just a few minutes later I dropped my camera and it broke!! The rest of the day was ruined for me. :(


Here's some pictures of my three dirtballs!!




































































The campsite we stayed at was totally dirt, not one patch of grass. The kids had a ball, but they were covered in dirt from head to toe continuously!! Upon returning home, I had ten days worth of dirt covered laundry!! A week and half later I was finally caught up!! Makes me wish for disposable clothes!

Monday, August 28, 2006

One day down....179 to go!

Ah....it feels nice to have the first day of school under our belts. Caleb (6) is in first grade this year and Jo (4) is in Preschool. We started the day off by going out for breakfast (something we never do). When we got back home we got off to a late start, but we did finish everything I planned on doing for the day.

Caleb is doing the second half of Sonlight's Core K, with their LA1 and Horizon's Math. Josiah is doing Sonlight's PK. I'm integrating notebooking into our various subjects this year, and Caleb did his first notebook page on the first chapter of Dr. Doolittle today. I had him draw pictures of Dr. Doolittle's pets, and he drew an owl and a hedgehog. He completed a narration on the chapter(why Dr. Doolittle was poor?).

All in all it was a pretty good day. My goal for tomorrow, though, is to find something to keep Rachel (2) and Jada (almost 1) occupied!!


LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails