Saturday, December 31, 2011

End of December Photo Dump

I haven't taken a lot of pictures in December, but here are a few that I've taken over the last several weeks.

This is how Alex feels about being put in his playpen to play.
DSC_0001

Joe finishing up some Math before Christmas break.
DSC_0006

Alex and Sarah playing with Kringle the morning of our Christmas.
DSC_0012


Caleb in his homemade, Bible time costume.  He came around the corner wearing this and scared me to death.
DSC_0004

Sarah as the littlest angel at the church Christmas program.
DSC_0008

DSC_0008



The girls decorating Christmas Cookies.
DSC_0031 DSC_0030

An exciting game of war.
DSC_0013
DSC_0016


In the spirit of elf on a shelf, we had a dog. Kringle, visit our house each night and get into mischief.
DSC_0022DSC_0001DSC_0001 DSC_0001

Have a safe and happy New Year!

Books Read - 2011


Here's what I read in 2011.  Hoping to get a bit more reading in next year.  



1.  The Help by Kathryn Stockett - finished 1/8 - (4.5/5)
2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak - finished 1/25 - (5/5)
3.  The Choice by Suzanne Woods Fisher - finished 1/29 - (3/5)
4. The Waiting by Suzanne Woods Fisher - finished 1/30 - (3/5)
5.  In All Deep Places by Susan Meissner - finished 2/10 - (4/5)
6.  The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck - finished 2/18 - (4/5)
7.  One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp - finished 2/26 - (4/5)
8.  Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes (Read-aloud) - finished 3/2 - (4/5)
9. Black by Ted Dekker - finished 3/30 - (2/5)
10.  Carry on, Mr. Bowditch  by Jean Lee Latham (Read-aloud) - finished 4/1 - (5/5)
11.  Mrs. Mike by Benedict and Nancy Freedman - finished 4/7 - (4/5)
12.  The Core by Leigh Bortins - finished 4/15 - (4/5)
13.  Water for elephants by Sara Gruen - finished 4/21 - (4.5/5)
14.  Justin Morgan had a Horse by Marguerite Henry (Read-aloud) - finished 4/24 - (4/5)
15.  Calico Bush by Rachel Field (Read-aloud) - finished 5/10 - (4/5)
16.  Moccasin Trail by    (Read-Aloud) - finished 8/13 - (4/5)
17.  Outlander by Diane Gabaldon - finished 9/5 -(3/5)
18.  All Sail Set by Armstrong Perry (Read-Aloud) - finished 9/16 - (2/5)
19.  Boy Heaven by Laura Kasischke - finished 9/24 - (3/5)
20.  In a Perfect World by Laura Kasischke - finished 10/3 - (3/5)
21.  Across Five Aprils by Irene Hunt - finished 10/15 - (4/5)
22. The Moment Between by Nicole Baart - finished 11/22 - (3/5)
23.  Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink - (Read-aloud) - finished 11/27 - 4/5
24.  The Great Turkey Walk by Kathleen Karr - (Read-Aloud) - finished 12/10- 4/5
25.  The Christmas Bus by Melody Carlson - finished 12/21 - 3/5

Friday, December 23, 2011

Tobogganing

We dropped the younger two at Nanny and Pa's, then went tobogganing for the first time.   All six of us had a great time ... except for the walk back up the hill carrying the toboggan.  I think at least two of us will be very sore tomorrow!

IMG_0599

Alex's First Steps

Monday, December 19, 2011

Alex - 11 months

DSC_0016

You haven't really gained any new skills in the last month ...  still crawling and walking along furniture ... and babbling up a storm.

You weigh in at 19 lbs. 13 oz.

You are 29 inches.



You're still not a real big eater, but you still nurse a lot.

You thought the frosting on that cookie was pretty yummy ... and it was the only way I could keep you still.

You love playing with cars, balls and stuffed animals.


You're constantly on the move.

You love to be in the midst of the bigger kids.

You're very laid back.


You're a sweetheart.

I love your hugs.

I can't believe that your only one month away from 1!

11 months

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Alex's Baby Dedication

We had a baby dedication at church this morning.  Alex slept through the whole thing!   Josiah recorded the whole thing and Sarah was watching it back this evening.  Then, she must have deleted it, because it is no longer on my ipod touch (if anyone knows if there is a way to get back a deleted video off of a touch ... please let me know!).  At least we have a picture!

  DSC_0004

Saturday, December 10, 2011

December Catch Up

December is flying by.   We've been super busy ... too busy to remember to snap many pictures or blog.    Our school days are pretty simple for December.  We finished the book The Great Turkey Walk tonight.   The kids all really enjoyed it!  We've been learning about the skeletal and muscular system in science.  In history we've been learning about reconstruction after the Civil War.  The kids have been struggling with concentration with all the excitement of Christmas.

Here are a couple of pictures from the last few weeks.

DSC_0001
Alex sleeping in his playpen ... while sitting up.


DSC_0004
Our backyard over the course of an afternoon.  Flooding and snow all at once!

DSC_0013
Josiah (in the green shirt) at his choir recital.  Caleb also sang, but I didn't get any pictures of him (I was too busy with a crazy two year old).

DSC_0011
Jada doing the sign language alphabet during the same recital.  She's in a navy dress towards the middle.  

DSC_0008
Rachel and Josiah playing with a big, muddy snow ball.

Monday, November 21, 2011

Decorating the Christmas Tree

Alex - 10 months

10 months

You got two more teeth.

You say, "Bye Bye" and wave.


You're always on the go.

You sleep very little ... sometimes skipping naps altogether.


You're such a happy guy and we love you!

10 months

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I'm loving


this face ... with two new teeth and banana smeared all over it.

Friday, November 11, 2011

Week in Review - Week 13

We started our third term of school this week.   Overall, we had a pretty good week around here.


Rachel working on Math.  We made a discovery this week that if we remove the days worksheet from the workbook, she can finish so much faster and more accurately.  I think she just gets too overwhelmed with all of the workbook pages staring her down.


Caleb and Joe were supposed to finish Old Yeller this week, but the book seemed to have disappeared.  We searched everywhere for it, but came up empty handed.  Ironically, I know this is a book that we've owned multiple copies of, but we can't even find one!  I'm sure I'll find it today, now that the week is over.  They both just read on their own this week.   Rachel read Flat Stanley.  Jada read her chapter in I can Read It and multiple picture books.


DSC_0008




















DSC_0012
Jada doing her spelling.

We've been reading Caddie Woodlawn as our read-aloud.  We studied the beginning of the industrial revolution in history.  In Geography, we learned about the thermosphere and ionosphere.


Alex with his teddy bear.

DSC_0007

We began studying the human body this week.  We traced our bodies and will add each body system as we study it.  We also did an experiment showing the permeability of a cell membrane. (the picture above).

DSC_0017DSC_0018
Adding skeletons to our bodies.

We traveled to a nearby cheese factory and watched them make cheese.  We also got to taste a wide variety of cheese and, of course, buy our favorites.  

IMG_0567IMG_0566
Pictures from the cheese factory.

IMG_0565
Josiah and his look alike, Sarah, at Jo Jo's Pretzels.

Saturday, November 5, 2011

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Alex Videos

Here are a few videos of Alex from earlier in the week.

The first one is of him repeating, "Uh Oh" over and over.   Part way through he becomes enthralled with himself on the ipod screen.



This one is of him walking along the coffee table.  He attempts to cross over to the couch, but decides not to.  He started going between the coffee table and couch (and back again) with ease yesterday.

Alex - 9 months

I am a day late this month ... I thought today was the nineteenth.   I learned this morning that I was wrong.  I don't think he's changed much in 24 hours, so I think it'll be O.K.  He's getting very hard to get pictures of because he never stays still!



You got your first two teeth.

You're pulling up on everything.

You're starting to cruise along furniture


You love to eat big people food.

You think you have to be right in the midst of the big kids.

You love to take off and explore the house ... which is exhausting for Mom!


You repeat "uh oh" and started repeating "Dad"

You love playing with toys ... and non toys, too.

You've started wearing 12 month clothes and weigh around 19 pounds.


You slept through the night last night!!

But, you usually still wake at least once.

You still love to nurse.


You're super cute and love to flash your smile.

We love you!!

The first 9 months:

9 months

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails